Travel Tips


Public Holidays

In Thailand most workers do not receive the generous holiday/vacation leave allowances people do in the west, although this is offset by the greater number of public holidays Thais enjoy. Many public holidays are based around festivals. Clearly, Thai people want to make the most of these holidays by taking a break or visiting relatives at home in a different province. They are very often periods of significant increase in domestic tourism and travel. During some of the Thai public holidays, you might find hotels and resorts fully booked and it might not be possible to get transportation to the places you want to visit. Clearly a bit of planning is in order.

The festivals that often take place during public holidays are great times to see aspects of 'real' Thailand and to feel more involved than you usually might. This is especially true of the Songkran festival. They can though be periods of frustration if travel plans do not go right. Reserve hotels and buy tickets at least a few weeks in advance. In addition, avoid the hassles getting back to Bangkok on the last day a holiday by staying a couple of extra days out of town.

List of Thailand’s Public Holidays During 2024

Monday January 1, 2024 New Year’s Day
Monday February 26, 2024 Makha Bucha Day
(Substitution: Saturday February 24)
Monday April 8, 2024 Chakri Memorial Day
(Substitution: Saturday April 6)
Monday April 15, 2024 Songkran Festival Day
Tuesday April 16, 2024 Songkran Festival Day
(Substitution: Saturday April 13 and Sunday April 14)
Wednesday May 1, 2024 National Labour Day
Monday May 6, 2024 Coronation Day
(Substitution: Saturday May 4)
Wednesday May 22, 2024 Visakha Bucha Day
Monday June 3, 2024 H.M. Queen Suthida Bajrasudhabimalalakshana’s Birthday
Monday July 22, 2024 Asarnha Bucha Day
(Substitution: Saturday July 20)
Monday July 29, 2024 H.M. King Maha Vajiralongkorn Phra Vajiraklaochaoyuhua’s Birthday
(Substitution: Sunday July 28)
Monday August 12, 2024 H.M. Queen Sirikit The Queen Mother’s Birthday and National Mother’s day
Monday October 14, 2024 H.M. King Bhumibol Adulyadej The Great Memorial Day
(Substitution: Sunday October 13)
Wednesday October 23, 2024 H.M. King Chulalongkorn The Great Memorial Day
Thursday December 5, 2024 H.M. King Bhumibol Adulyadej’s Birthday, National Day and National Father’s Day
Tuesday December 10, 2024 Constitution Day
Tuesday December 31, 2024 New Year’s Eve

 

Hotel Booking